As an Amazon Associate this site earns from qualifying purchases.
Quick Picks
| Product | Best For | Standout Published Spec | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wolverine Men'sOverpass 6" Mid Composite Toe Waterproof Work Boot, Black/Grey | Waterproof leather all-rounder | ASTM F2413-18 M/I/C EH CarbonMax composite toe | Check Price on Amazon |
| KEEN Utility Men's Skokie Hiker Style Mid Height Composite Toe 90 Degree Waterproof Work Boots, Magnet/Black | Metatarsal protection | ASTM F3445-24 and F2413-18 M I/75 C/75 MT/75 EH | Check Price on Amazon |
| New Balance Calibre Composite Toe Work Boots for Men - EH | Puncture hazards underfoot | Anti-perforation midsole plus I/75 C/75 and ASTM F2913-19 | Check Price on Amazon |
| KEEN Utility Men's Vista Energy Low Composite Toe Work Shoes | A low-cut safety shoe | Carbon-fiber toe rated 15% lighter than steel | Check Price on Amazon |
| FitVille Extra Wide Steel Toe Shoes for Men Composite Toe Work Shoes Grey | Wide and extra-wide feet | Wide and extra wide widths; 800 grams a pair | Check Price on Amazon |
Disclosure: We earn a small commission from qualifying Amazon purchases at no extra cost to you.
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.Last Updated: September 2026
Composite safety toes solve a problem steel never could: they protect your toes without putting a slab of metal on the end of your foot. That matters around live circuits, in temperature swings, and anywhere a lighter toe cap makes a twelve-hour shift more bearable.
This roundup reads the published specifications for ten composite toe work boots and shoes and tells you which rating codes actually matter for your trade. Nobody on this site wears, weighs or wrenches on these boots — every fact below comes from the manufacturer's listing information, cited product by product, retrieved 2026-09-08.
Here is the thing most buying guides gloss over: "composite toe" describes the toe cap and nothing else. A boot can carry a non-metallic toe and still use metal elsewhere in the build, and several listings here simply do not state what the rest of the boot is made from. If genuinely metal-free safety toe boots are a hard requirement for your workplace, the toe rating is your starting point, not your answer.
Safety Ratings at a Glance
| Product | Toe/safety rating as listed | Water claim as listed |
|---|---|---|
| Wolverine Men'sOverpass 6" Mid Composite Toe Waterproof Work Boot, Black/Grey | ASTM F2413-18 M/I/C EH | Waterproof leather |
| Wolverine Men'sOverpass 6" Mid Composite Toe Waterproof Work Boot, Summer Brown | ASTM F2413-11 M I/75 C/75 EH | Waterproof leather |
| KEEN Utility Men's Skokie Hiker Style Mid Height Composite Toe 90 Degree Waterproof Work Boots, Magnet/Black | ASTM F3445-24 and F2413-18 M I/75 C/75 MT/75 EH | Waterproof work hiker |
| KEEN Utility Men's Vista Energy Low Composite Toe Work Shoes | ASTM F2412-18 and F2413-18 M I/75 C/75 EH | Not stated in the supplied listing information |
| New Balance Calibre Composite Toe Work Boots for Men - EH | I/75 C/75, ASTM F2913-19, EH per ASTM F2412-18a | Water-resistant leather upper |
| NORTIV 8 Men's Composite Toe Work Boots Lightweight | ASTM F2413-24 I/75, EH and SR | Not stated in the supplied listing information |
| NINGO Composite Toe Work Boots for Men | ASTM F2413-2024, EH, slip-resistant outsole | Water-resistant upper that repels splashes |
| VULTREAK Composite Toe Work Boots for Men and Women – Exceeds Steel Toe Protection | EN ISO 20345, S3 and HRO | Water resistance per S3 |
| FitVille Extra Wide Steel Toe Shoes for Men Composite Toe Work Shoes Grey | Manufacturer pressure figures only | Water repellent upper |
Wolverine Men'sOverpass 6" Mid Composite Toe Waterproof Work Boot, Black/Grey, 10 Medium — Best for a waterproof leather all-rounder
If you want one boot that covers wet ground, general construction and electrical hazard exposure without much thought, this is the spec sheet to start with. The Black/Grey Overpass pairs premium waterproof leather with an abrasion resistant toe, and Wolverine's listing rates the CarbonMax composite toe to ASTM F2413-18 M/I/C EH.
Underfoot, the listing describes a removable OrthoLite cushioning footbed that molds to your foot over an advanced comfort PU midsole. A removable footbed is the practical detail here: it means aftermarket orthotics have somewhere to go, which is the usual sticking point with a molded work boot.
Note what the rating line does not include. Wolverine states M/I/C EH without publishing the numeric 75-level codes on this listing, and no puncture-resistance or metatarsal rating is stated.
Pros
- Waterproof leather upper with an abrasion resistant toe
- CarbonMax composite toe rated ASTM F2413-18 M/I/C EH
- Removable OrthoLite footbed accommodates aftermarket insoles
- Breathable moisture wicking mesh lining
- The rating string is abbreviated; the numeric impact and compression levels are not stated in the supplied listing information
- No puncture-resistant midsole or metatarsal guard is listed
Verdict: Buy this if you want a mid-cut waterproof leather boot with an ASTM F2413-18 M/I/C EH composite toe and room for your own insoles.
Wolverine Men'sOverpass 6" Mid Composite Toe Waterproof Work Boot, Summer Brown, 9.5 Medium — Best for chemical and oil exposure on wet sites
Same family, different published emphasis. This Summer Brown version is built on flexible, athletic contour welt construction that Wolverine says bends and flexes at essential points, and its outsole is described as slip, oil, water, abrasion, and chemical-resistant.
That outsole line matters if you spend your day in a shop where solvents, hydraulic fluid or cutting oil hit the floor, because Wolverine describes the outsole on the Wolverine Men'sOverpass 6" Mid Composite Toe Waterproof Work Boot, Summer Brown, 9.5 Medium as slip, oil, water, abrasion, and chemical-resistant. The Wolverine Men'sOverpass 6" Mid Composite Toe Waterproof Work Boot, Black/Grey, 10 Medium listing includes no outsole bullet, so its outsole properties are simply not stated in the supplied listing information. The listing rates its composite toe to ASTM F2413-11 M I/75 C/75 EH, which does publish the numeric levels.
One caveat worth catching before you order: that is the 2011 revision of the standard rather than the 2018 revision cited on the Black/Grey listing, so if your employer's PPE policy names a specific revision, confirm the current certification with Wolverine.
Pros
- Outsole described as slip, oil, water, abrasion, and chemical-resistant
- Full numeric rating published: M I/75 C/75 EH
- Contour welt construction designed to flex at natural break points
- Removable OrthoLite cushioned footbed
- Listed against ASTM F2413-11 rather than a newer revision
- No puncture-resistance or metatarsal rating stated
Verdict: The right Overpass for mechanics and plant workers who need a chemical-resistant outsole and want the impact and compression levels spelled out.
KEEN Utility Men's Skokie Hiker Style Mid Height Composite Toe 90 Degree Waterproof Work Boots, Magnet/Black, 10 D — Best for metatarsal protection
Metatarsal protection is the spec that separates this boot from everything else here. KEEN lists a carbon composite safety toe meeting ASTM F3445-24 and F2413-18 M I/75 C/75 MT/75 EH, which adds metatarsal coverage on top of the usual impact, compression and electrical hazard ratings.
If you handle heavy stock, work under a lift, or your site's hazard assessment flagged instep impacts, MT/75 is not a nice-to-have. The outsole and midsole are also rated to ASTM D471-06 903# oil and isooctane chemical resistance, which is unusually specific for a listing bullet.
Construction is a leather upper with mesh lining, a polyester insole and a lace-up closure, and KEEN describes the waterproof work hiker as protecting like a work boot and feeling like a sneaker. This ASIN covers the Magnet/Black colorway in size 10 D.
Pros
- MT/75 metatarsal rating alongside I/75 C/75 EH
- Also listed against ASTM F3445-24
- Named oil and isooctane chemical resistance rating for the outsole and midsole
- Waterproof leather upper in a hiker silhouette
- One listing bullet is cut off mid-sentence at "such as a 9," so a feature KEEN intended to highlight is not readable in the supplied listing information
- Polyester insole; the listing does not describe it as removable
Verdict: The pick when your job hazard analysis calls for metatarsal protection and you still want a boot with hiker-style flex.
KEEN Utility Men's Skokie Hiker Style Mid Height Composite Toe 90 Degree Waterproof Work Boots, Camo/Black, 10.5 D — Best for the same MT/75 spec in a camo finish
Mechanically this is the Skokie again: KEEN lists the same carbon composite safety toe meeting ASTM F3445-24 and F2413-18 M I/75 C/75 MT/75 EH, the same ASTM D471-06 903# oil and isooctane chemical resistance for the outsole and midsole, and the same leather upper, mesh lining, polyester insole and lace-up closure.
What changes is the finish and the size this ASIN covers, which is Camo/Black in 10.5 D. Choose between the two Skokie listings on colorway and size availability, not on capability, because the published safety specifications are identical.
Pros
- Identical MT/75 metatarsal and I/75 C/75 EH ratings to the Magnet/Black version
- Camo/Black finish for outdoor and utility work where it suits the dress code
- Waterproof hiker construction with energy-returning cushioning per KEEN
- Same truncated listing bullet as the other Skokie colorway
- Single size and colorway per ASIN, so availability drives the decision
Verdict: Take this one if 10.5 D and camo suit you; the safety spec is the same as the Magnet/Black Skokie.
New Balance Calibre Composite Toe Work Boots for Men - EH, PR, Non-Slip Leather Safety Shoes for Industrial & Construction, Wheat, 12 Wide — Best for puncture hazards underfoot
Nails, screws and swarf are the hazard nobody plans for. New Balance lists the Calibre with an anti-perforation midsole for puncture resistance, a lightweight composite toe and slip-resistant outsole meeting ASTM I/75 C/75 and ASTM F2913-19, and electrical hazard performance passing ASTM F2412-18a.
The upper is water-resistant leather rather than waterproof, paired with a moisture-wicking mesh lining, perforated insoles, and New Balance's Acteva midsole. Perforated insoles and a mesh lining point toward airflow, which is a reasonable trade when the upper is not sealed for standing water anyway.
One honest gap for readers shopping specifically for metal-free footwear: the listing does not state what the anti-perforation midsole is made of. Puncture plates are made in both steel and non-metallic constructions, so that is the spec to confirm with New Balance before you buy.
Pros
- Anti-perforation midsole for puncture resistance
- I/75 C/75 impact and compression levels published
- Slip resistance stated against ASTM F2913-19
- EH performance passing ASTM F2412-18a
- Water-resistant, not waterproof — the listing does not claim a sealed upper
- Puncture plate material is not stated in the supplied listing information
Verdict: Best for demo, framing and remodel crews walking over debris, provided you confirm the midsole material if metal-free is mandatory.
KEEN Utility Men's Vista Energy Low Composite Toe Work Shoes, Steel Grey/Baleine Blue, 12 — Best for a low-cut safety shoe
This one is not a boot and does not pretend to be. KEEN rates the Vista Energy's left- and right-asymmetrical non-metallic carbon-fiber safety toes as 15% lighter than steel and compliant with ASTM F2412-18 and F2413-18 M I/75 C/75 EH.
The asymmetrical toe detail is more useful than it sounds. A left- and right-specific cap can follow the actual shape of your toes rather than a symmetrical box, which KEEN describes as an unobtrusive fit. The KEEN.ReGEN midsole is described as a lightweight, compression-resisting foam providing 50% more energy return than standard EVA.
The upper is mesh and synthetic with a mesh and moisture-wicking textile lining, and the footbed is a removable metatomical PU insert. The supplied listing information does not state any waterproof or water-resistant rating for this shoe, and a mesh upper points toward breathability rather than wet-site protection. It is also a low-cut shoe, so it gives you no ankle coverage.
Pros
- Non-metallic carbon-fiber toe explicitly described as such
- Full I/75 C/75 EH rating in a low-cut shoe
- KEEN lists the KEEN.ReGEN midsole on the KEEN Utility Men's Vista Energy Low Composite Toe Work Shoes as providing 50% more energy return than standard EVA foam
- Removable metatomical PU footbed
- No waterproof or water-resistant claim in the supplied listing information
- Low cut, so no ankle support or coverage
Verdict: For warehouse, plant and facilities work on dry floors where a rated toe matters and boot height does not.
FitVille Extra Wide Steel Toe Shoes for Men Composite Toe Work Shoes Grey — Best for wide and extra-wide feet
Width is the whole pitch. It is built in wide and extra wide widths that FitVille aims at wide feet and at people dealing with plantar fasciitis and bunions, which is a genuinely underserved corner of safety footwear.
On protection, FitVille says the composite toe cap has been tested to withstand up to 2500 pounds of vertical pressure and 75 pounds of vertical instant shock, but the supplied listing information does not state an ASTM F2413 classification. That is a seller's own figure, not a published third-party rating, and a site that requires ASTM-rated PPE will want documentation.
The listing puts the pair at 800 grams, describes a water repellent upper, sponge foam anti-odor insoles, EVA midsoles, and 3M reflective material for nighttime visibility. 800 grams per pair works out to roughly 400 grams per shoe, though the listing does not state which size that figure refers to.
Pros
- Wide and extra wide fits aimed at plantar fasciitis and bunion sufferers
- 800 grams a pair as listed
- 3M reflective material for low-light visibility
- Water repellent, breathable upper
- No ASTM F2413 classification in the supplied listing information
- The product title itself reads "Extra Wide Steel Toe Shoes for Men Composite Toe Work Shoes," which mixes two different toe materials, so confirm the toe construction with FitVille if metal-free is a hard requirement
Verdict: Worth a look if standard D-width safety shoes crush your forefoot, as long as your employer accepts footwear without a stated ASTM class.
VULTREAK Composite Toe Work Boots for Men and Women – Exceeds Steel Toe Protection, Quick Fit System, Kevlar Puncture-Resistant Midsole, S3 HRO Certified, Heat-Resistant, Waterproof, Rubber Slip-Resistant Outsole, Safety Shoes for Industrial & Welding Use — Best for a no-laces dial closure
Laces around rotating equipment and welding sparks are a nuisance at best. VULTREAK describes a dial closure that replaces laces, a full-grain waxed cowhide upper, and certification under European S3 and HRO standards covering slip resistance, water resistance, anti-static protection and a heat-resistant outsole.
The toe cap is described as EN ISO 20345 certified, withstanding up to 3,300 lbs (1,500 kg) of compression and impact from 45 lbs (20 kg) dropped from 3.3 ft (1 m). The product title also lists a Kevlar puncture-resistant midsole and a rubber slip-resistant outsole aimed at industrial and welding use, and a Kevlar plate is a non-metallic puncture solution by definition.
Read the certification line carefully. Every certification in the supplied listing information is European — EN ISO 20345, S3 and HRO — and no ASTM F2413 rating is stated, so a US job site that specifies ASTM-rated footwear may not accept it without confirmation. The bullet describing the toe cap is also headed "Steel Toe Protection" even though the product is sold as a composite toe boot, and that is a seller claim rather than independent verification.
Pros
- Dial closure removes laces entirely
- Kevlar puncture-resistant midsole named in the listing
- S3 and HRO claims cover slip, water, anti-static and heat-resistant outsole
- Full-grain waxed cowhide upper
- No ASTM F2413 rating stated; certifications cited are European
- Listing language mixes steel toe and composite toe terminology
Verdict: For welders and industrial workers who want a lace-free dial and a Kevlar plate, and whose employer accepts EN ISO 20345 certification.
NORTIV 8 Men's Composite Toe Work Boots Lightweight, Black, 9.5 — Best for a lightweight side-zip boot
A side zipper sounds like a small thing until you take your boots off four times a day. NORTIV 8 lists this boot as meeting ASTM F2413-24 I/75 for impact resistance, ASTM F2413-24 EH for electrical hazard resistance and ASTM F2413-24 SR for slip resistance, with a corrosion-resistant nano composite toe cap.
Those are ratings against the 2024 revision of the standard, as listed for the NORTIV 8 Men's Composite Toe Work Boots Lightweight, Black, 9.5. The stated weight is about 21.27 oz per boot at size 9, over a supportive EVA midsole and a synthetic leather insole, which NORTIV 8 links to reduced fatigue on long shifts.
The upper is wear-resistant nylon fabric with a reinforced TPU structure, and a side zipper handles on-and-off. The supplied listing information states an I/75 impact rating but does not state a C/75 compression rating, and it does not state any waterproof or water-resistant claim — a nylon upper is not the choice for standing water.
Pros
- Rated against ASTM F2413-24 for impact, electrical hazard and slip resistance
- About 21.27 oz per boot at size 9 as listed
- Side zipper for fast entry and exit
- Corrosion-resistant nano composite toe cap
- No C/75 compression rating in the supplied listing information
- No waterproof or water-resistant claim stated
Verdict: For drivers, security staff and shop workers on dry surfaces who prioritize a light boot and quick on-off over wet weather sealing.
NINGO Composite Toe Work Boots for Men, Water & Slip Resistant Work Shoes — Best for long concrete shifts
NINGO lists a lightweight composite toe described as ASTM F2413-2024 and OSHA compliant at 42.33 oz per boot in size 10, with an ASTM F2413-24 and OSHA compliant rubber outsole for dry and wet traction. That is close to double the 21.27 oz per boot that NORTIV 8 publishes for its size 9 boot, and the two figures are quoted at different sizes.
Comfort comes from a high-rebound EVA midsole and an arch support PU insole that NINGO says relieves fatigue during 12-hour concrete floor shifts. The upper combines wear-resistant leather with breathable Oxford fabric, a gusseted tongue to keep debris out, and water resistance that the listing frames as repelling splashes. NINGO also lists Electrical Hazard protection under ASTM standards aimed at electricians, mechanics and craftsmen.
Pros
- Gusseted tongue to block debris
- High-rebound EVA midsole with a shape-retaining PU arch support insole
- EH protection listed under ASTM standards
- Leather and Oxford fabric upper described as easy to break in
- 42.33 oz per boot in size 10 is a substantial published weight for a composite-toe design
- Water resistance is framed as repelling splashes, not as waterproofing
Verdict: A reasonable pick for plant and shop floors where debris and splashes are routine and boot weight is not your main complaint.
What to Look For in Metal-Free Safety Toe Boots
- Read the whole rating string, not the words "composite toe." In ASTM F2413 shorthand, I/75 is impact protection and C/75 is compression protection at the highest common class. EH covers electrical hazard, MT/75 covers metatarsal protection, and PR covers puncture resistance. A listing that says "M/I/C EH" without numbers, like the Black/Grey Overpass, is telling you less than one that spells out M I/75 C/75 EH.
- Remember the toe is not the whole boot. KEEN explicitly calls the Vista Energy toe non-metallic carbon fiber, while New Balance's Calibre listing describes an anti-perforation midsole without naming its material. If you need a fully metal-free boot for a detector-controlled or magnetic environment, ask the manufacturer about plates, shanks and eyelets too.
- Separate waterproof from water-resistant from water-repellent. Wolverine's Overpass listings say premium waterproof leather. New Balance's Calibre lists a water-resistant leather upper. FitVille says water repellent, and NINGO frames its upper as repelling splashes. Those are three different promises.
- Check the revision year of the standard. This group spans ASTM F2413-11, F2413-18, F2413-24 and F3445-24. Some employers specify a revision in their PPE policy.
- Watch for European-only certification. The VULTREAK listing cites EN ISO 20345, S3 and HRO rather than ASTM F2413. That is a legitimate standard set, but it is not the one most US safety managers write into a policy.
- Weigh the closure against your hazards. A dial closure, a side zipper and a traditional lace-up all behave differently around machinery, ladders and mud.
- Use published weight only when it is published. Three listings here state a weight; the rest do not, and an unstated weight is not a heavy boot, it is an unknown one.
- Check for recalls before you commit to a bulk order. Footwear recalls and consumer safety notices are published by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, and general consumer protection guidance is collected at USA.gov.
How We Research
This site does not run a lab and does not wear-test footwear. What we do is read the primary listing evidence closely: for each of the ten products above, we pulled the Amazon Creators API verified product record and every product listing feature bullet, all retrieved on 2026-09-08, then compared them line by line.
That means every ASTM code, weight, compression figure and material description in this article is traceable to a specific manufacturer or retailer statement about that specific ASIN. Where a listing is silent — a missing compression class, an unstated midsole material, a truncated bullet — we say so rather than guessing. Silence in a listing is not proof the manufacturer never publishes the figure elsewhere; it means the supplied listing information does not contain it.
Final Verdict
For most trades, the Wolverine Men'sOverpass 6" Mid Composite Toe Waterproof Work Boot, Black/Grey, 10 Medium is the sensible default because it combines premium waterproof leather with an ASTM F2413-18 M/I/C EH CarbonMax composite toe and a removable OrthoLite footbed you can swap for orthotics.
If your hazard assessment calls for instep protection, buy the KEEN Utility Men's Skokie Hiker Style Mid Height Composite Toe 90 Degree Waterproof Work Boots, Magnet/Black, 10 D instead — its carbon composite toe is listed to ASTM F3445-24 and F2413-18 M I/75 C/75 MT/75 EH, and the MT/75 line is the only metatarsal rating published in this group.
Walking on debris? The New Balance Calibre Composite Toe Work Boots for Men - EH lists an anti-perforation midsole plus I/75 C/75 and EH performance, with the caveat that the plate material is not stated.
Need the least shoe possible? The KEEN Utility Men's Vista Energy Low Composite Toe Work Shoes carries carbon-fiber toes KEEN rates as 15% lighter than steel and a KEEN.ReGEN midsole that KEEN's listing describes as providing 50% more energy return than standard EVA foam — for dry floors only, since no water rating is listed.
And if standard widths hurt, the FitVille Extra Wide Steel Toe Shoes for Men Composite Toe Work Shoes Grey is sold in wide and extra wide widths aimed at plantar fasciitis and bunions, provided your employer does not require a stated ASTM class.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are composite toe boots as protective as steel toe boots?
Protection is defined by the rating, not the material. Several boots here are listed at I/75 C/75, the same impact and compression class commonly applied to steel toe footwear — including the Summer Brown Overpass at ASTM F2413-11 M I/75 C/75 EH and the KEEN Vista Energy at ASTM F2412-18 and F2413-18 M I/75 C/75 EH. Match the rating your employer requires and the toe material becomes a comfort and conductivity decision.
Does "composite toe" mean the entire boot is metal-free?
No. The rating covers the toe cap. KEEN describes the Vista Energy's carbon-fiber safety toes as non-metallic, but New Balance's Calibre listing does not state what its anti-perforation midsole is made from. For a truly metal-free build, confirm plates, shanks and hardware with the manufacturer.
Which of these boots has metatarsal protection?
Both KEEN Skokie listings — Magnet/Black and Camo/Black — cite a carbon composite safety toe meeting ASTM F3445-24 and F2413-18 M I/75 C/75 MT/75 EH. No other listing in this group states an MT rating.
What do I/75, C/75, EH and PR actually mean?
I/75 and C/75 are the impact and compression classes in ASTM F2413 shorthand. EH means the footwear is rated for electrical hazard protection, which NINGO's listing describes as minimizing shock risk near live circuits. PR refers to puncture resistance, the role New Balance assigns to the Calibre's anti-perforation midsole.
Which of these are genuinely waterproof?
The two Wolverine Overpass listings describe premium waterproof leather, and both KEEN Skokie listings are described as waterproof work hikers. The New Balance Calibre lists a water-resistant upper, FitVille lists a water repellent upper, and NINGO's water resistance is framed as repelling splashes — those are lesser claims.
What about the Ariat Rebar Lift composite toe or the Timberland PRO Boondock composite toe?
Both are well-known names shoppers search for, but neither is among the ten products whose listing records were reviewed for this page, so this article makes no claims about their specifications. Check the manufacturer's current spec sheet for the exact ASTM ratings before comparing them with the boots above.
Do lighter boots mean less protection?
Not according to these listings. NORTIV 8 states about 21.27 oz per boot at size 9 while still listing ASTM F2413-24 I/75, EH and SR compliance. Weight tracks with upper material, sole mass and boot height more than with the toe cap rating.
Sources & Methodology
No boot on this page was worn, flexed, soaked or dropped on by anyone here — this site owns no lab and performs no footwear testing, and we would rather say that plainly than dress up a spec sheet as a field trial. What sits behind every claim above is the Amazon Creators API verified product record for each of the ten ASINs plus their published product listing feature bullets, all retrieved on 2026-09-08 and read against one another so that rating strings, weights and water claims could be compared like for like.
For safety footwear that is more useful than it sounds, because the buying decision in this category is largely a certification decision: whether a boot carries I/75 C/75, whether it adds MT/75 or a puncture-resistant plate, which ASTM revision it is listed against, and whether the manufacturer claims waterproofing or only water repellency. Fit, break-in and durability over a season are exactly the things a specification cannot tell you, so treat this as a shortlist based on published ratings and confirm sizing and any policy-critical certification with the manufacturer before you buy.